Sunday, October 14, 2012

How Could You Feel So Entitled?

My roommate had to do this food challenge for her health class where she could only spend $30 on food for an entire week, and then only eat the food bought with that money. The challenge started on Tuesday Oct. 8th, so Monday the 7th she went to the grocery store to stock up on food for the week. She bought two boxes of cereal, some apples, a package of wheat tortillas, a small jar of peanut butter, 18 eggs, and 10 packets of flavored rice (all the same flavor). By Friday she was weak and tired and couldn't focus because she wasn't getting enough nutrients or anything, because she wasn't eating enough. I understand that she was trying to ration her food and was afraid of eating too much and running out before the week is over, but honestly, even though she didn't get very much or a variety of healthy food, she definitely has enough to last through a week if she measures it out correctly (because it's not even over yet). Friday she basically quit the challenge and started eating again because she was making herself sick. I was gone all weekend so I didn't see what all she ate, but tonight when I got back, she made an entire package of frozen chicken nuggets, ate half of them, and threw the other half away.

I'm completely flabbergasted. The point of the challenge was to experience what it's like to be on food stamps, to know what it's like to not have enough. In my opinion, she did a really bad job when she was buying food anyway. Another roommate and I were at the store a day after she was, and we were looking at prices of different foods and figuring out all of the other things she could have bought to have healthier options and a greater variety of food to choose from throughout the week. I don't even care about that though, I just can't get it through my head that she would get to a point where she was sick from hunger, then waste so much food. I really don't understand it. It didn't even occur to her to only make half of the package of chicken nuggets, or that because SHE KNEW that she wouldn't want the leftovers later - she has a thing about not eating leftovers - she shouldn't make the entire package. I just...I really can't understand. I said something about it and she started giggling and was like "oh, I didn't even think about that...I'm probably getting a lot of judgement right now, but I'm still really thankful". I guess she meant thankful that she isn't on food stamps, and honestly when I first spoke to her I wasn't even trying to judge her, I was just trying to understand. And I still can't understand.

No comments:

Post a Comment