1. I'm home for the weekend! It's my high school's homecoming weekend, and my sister and cousin are in the newly-formed marching band so I'm back to watch them perform at the football game tomorrow! Also because a lot of my friends - including Katie and Kyle ~bffs 5evr~ - are home this weekend, and because I miss my family, and because I miss my bed, and because of probably a lot of other reasons too but nothing really serious, just because. Tonight my family just went over to grandma's house for pizza. Lots of family was there: Uncle Billy, Uncle Jamie & Aunt Laurie and their daughter/my cousin (one of my favorite people in the world) Emily, and then my parents, Claire, and me. Which I guess actually isn't a lot at all, but it was still really nice for us all to be together. I've really missed hanging out with Emily and Claire, the three of us together. The three of us hanging out as a unit was honestly probably one of my favorite parts of growing up, especially after I got my driver's license and we started going on adventures together. Tonight was fun. Tomorrow everyone will go up to school and join in the homecoming festivities and the class of 2011 will partially reunite and we'll see tons of people from other classes and it will just be a great weekend.
2. A weird thing about this weekend though is that Jim's band, Dogjaw, is on tour right now while they're off school for Fall Break (which I won't have - UMD WHY DON'T WE HAVE FALL BREAK, HMM?). It's really strange being home and not planning out my weekend around when I'll get to be with Jim. I mean I guess it's nice on that scheduling level, I can spend all of my time with friends and family and not have to worry about balancing it out with alone time with Jim. And allow me to clarify that spending time with Jim is not a hassle or anything that I ever worry about. It's just something that I love doing, so when I'm home I prefer to do it for much of the time that I'm here, so now I don't have to feel like I'm neglecting my friends and family or missing out on hanging out time with anyone. They were in Cleveland tonight, which I think is pretty cool. I like that they're touring and getting more experience and getting more fans. I believe in them.
3. I got basically a C on my econ midterm. I feel like this massive hypocrite, because I recently made that big post about how important my grades are to me and how much school is a part of my life, and then I just fuck around in econ and don't care about it at all. I think it's because I've gotten myself into this mindset where it really doesn't matter, because I was originally taking it because I was planning on double majoring in English and Gov&Politics, and I needed econ (and math111, which I'm also currently taking) to get into the gov major. Now I'm not really planning on studying government anymore, so econ has become just a random elective that I need to keep a grade in for my general gpa. Which in and of itself should be motivation to do well in the class, but the fact that I no longer need it for a specific requirement has pretty much wiped it off of my list of priorities. I really do need to rearrange that list, anyway. I don't know. It makes me feel bad to not care about econ, but at the same time I just can't make it seem important. I'm going to work in it to maintain general good grades, but that's about it. Scraping by and doing the minimum amount of work, that's my middle name.
4. I updated Claire's iPod touch to iOS 6 tonight. She was super worried about all of her music getting wiped off of it (which did happen, sorry Claire!), but I at least was able to back up her photos and general settings. She wanted the update so that she could use the device to its full potential and get access to apps that needed an updated version of the operating system to work correctly, but she was freaking out about losing her media and having to start over. I know that's just a general thing, anybody would be worried about that, but I just thought it was kind of interesting. Even though she knows that all of the music on her iPod also exists on either my laptop or on the family PC, she was still so scared of losing everything and having to start over. It kind of makes me think about life - yeah look at me, getting existential over an iPod update; I should be a great philosopher. Or a youtuber. Anyway, it was just interesting to me because it kind of made me think about life and relationships, and when we know that there are things that we need to do in order to grow up or make ourselves happier or just get to a better place or something, but knowing that it might hurt or take a lot of work really holds us back. Even when we know that we could survive if we had to start over, that we have all of the tools to rebuild and start again, it's really hard to make that jump and do what we need to do. Claire was really scared of losing everything, but she told me to do the update anyway, and even though her media was wiped, we can rebuild her library. That's just something I'm going to try to remember. We can always rebuild the library.
5. I'm really tired right now. I feel like I haven't been getting as much sleep as I should be lately, and I guess that's just a college thing. It's really stupid, I stay up late for no reason, I'm not even doing homework or accomplishing anything or trying to do anything productive. I'm just up hanging out with my roommates or dicking around on the internet or skyping with Jim (every night, that one). I stay up way too late and don't have enough time to really get ready in the morning and I always say that I'm going to go to bed earlier and then it doesn't happen. Right now it's 3 am and I should have written this earlier and I'm getting up at 10 so that I can get my shit together to be at my hs campus (a 10 minute drive, nbd) by 11:30 to watch a soccer game and hang out with my friends. I need to go to bed. I always need to go to bed.
No comments:
Post a Comment