2. Last night was a pretty great night, too. Chelsea and Meghan went to a bar for Chelsea's friend's birthday, and Wells and I decided to stay in and watch a movie. My friend Chris lives on the 9th floor and he came down to watch Scott Pilgrim vs the World with us. This was at about midnight. After we finished Scott Pilgrim (and yes, this viewing did include a drinking game, although I only ended up having one beer for the whole night), Wells and Chris convinced me to stay up and start another movie, so for showing number two we picked Across the Universe, because it is fantastic and Wells and I sing along with all of the songs. Somewhere around halfway through A the U, Chris's roommate Jon came down, and he was pretty much wasted already. The four of us crammed on the couch and Wells and Jon had a pretzel fight. Jon had shaved his hair pretty short the day or two before so I ended up spending literally about an hour and a half just rubbing his head. The whole night ended around 5, and I still made myself get up and go to my 11 am ECON200 discussion (which was a shit show in its own right). The whole thing felt very 'college', and it was fun.
3. I'm currently at home, because tomorrow the Terrapins are playing the Mountaineers at WVU, so the Feeney family will be there to cheer on our terps! Morgantown is actually only about an hour to an hour and a half away from Cumberland, so it won't be a long trip or anything. Dad is planning for us to leave bright and early at 8 am, so we'll see how that goes. I love my school and I try to have a lot of spirit, but realistically, we're going to have our own shit handed to us tomorrow, so it's definitely not going to be a great game to watch as a Terps fan. It'll be fun though, as a trip in general. I'm definitely planning on showing my Maryland pride; my nails are already painted with Maryland colors, and I'll be color scheming my eye-makeup tomorrow. I also bought temporary tattoos, so I'll be wearing Testudo on my face all day tomorrow. Can't wait!
![]() |
| Here is an awful picture of my nails (my thumb is red, too). They definitely look neater now that it's a day later, and this was bad lighting, but you get the idea. |
5. I've had hardwood flooring in my bedroom at home since I was about 10 or 11 years old. When I was younger, my allergies were awful, and when we went to see a doctor about it, we were told that I shouldn't have carpet in my bedroom, no big piles of stuffed animals, no overabundance of pillows in my room, etc., so we had the carpet torn up and the floor refinished. I've always liked it (to a point - without the carpet for cushion, it's a lot creakier now, which is bad when I'm up moving about in my room when I'm supposed to be asleep!) but I've also always been a little taken aback upon reentering my room after being on vacation or something. I guess that while I'm not at home, I get re-used to just seeing carpeted floors or linoleum everywhere, and then when I come home, the hardwood flooring is a bit of a shock, which doesn't quite make sense to me because I obviously spend more time at home than on vacation, but whatever. What's funny to me now is that when I come home from college for a weekend or a break or something, the wood floor doesn't look weird. I'll be gone for weeks on end and see no wooden floors anywhere and then it's nothing when I come back, but when I'm gone for a week on vacation and come home, the lack of carpet just blows my mind. I really can't explain it, I have no idea why it doesn't look weird after college as opposed to after a vacation, but I guess I just wanted to share one weird way that my mind works.

No comments:
Post a Comment