Sunday, September 2, 2012

Friday Five

Yes, the Friday Five late, on Sunday. Oops.

1. I've officially finished my first week of college! Well, sort of, anyway. This past week, classes began on Wednesday, so I haven't had a real full week yet. The first three days of classes are over though! They went pretty well, as first classes during syllabus week go. I'm looking forward to them, especially my English classes and my history class. I think that this semester will go pretty well, even my math and econ classes. I guess we'll see as the weeks pass.

2. I can't get very good internet access in my apartment. I can only get crappy wifi in the living room/kitchen area, and none at all in my bedroom. That's why this post is late, I just couldn't get the internet access to post it on Friday. Two of my roommates have said that they're going to get wireless routers for our room though, so hopefully we'll have real internet access soon!

3. Speaking of roommates, things have been going pretty well on that front so far, too. I like all three of my roommates, and we've been hanging out a bit. I went to DC with Meghan the other day, and to the first football game of the year with Wells and her Rugby friends today. It's all been a lot of fun, I hope we continue to get along for the rest of the semester.

4. I really like my apartment this year. I moved into the next building over in my two-building complex, so it's pretty similar to last year, but a bit smaller. The smaller size isn't bad though, I actually think it's kind of cozy. We've decorated more already this year than we did in my old apartment for all of last year, so it definitely feels a lot girlier and more homey. I'm still working on putting up posters in my room and making things exactly the way I want, but once I've done that (and when we finally get reliable wifi - please please please) I'll probably post some pictures here.

5. College textbooks are so ridiculously expensive...I may end up making a stand-alone post about this one, but seriously, WHY DO THESE BOOKS COST SO MUCH MONEY??? I spent more money on textbooks for this semester than I would spend on groceries in about two months, and let me tell you, I'm a girl who knows how to eat. I really don't get it...like I'm sorry, but why does my little five chapter paperback math textbook cost $100? Why do I have to spend so much of my time searching the internet for the cheapest prices on books that I'm only going to use for about four months? It doesn't make sense to me, it really doesn't.

No comments:

Post a Comment