1. Tonight I was at a party in a friend's apartment, and I was talking to this guy, Kevin, who I met a few weeks ago. I could tell that he was kind of into me or whatever, but obviously as I have a boyfriend I wasn't going that way at all. We ended up actually talking about it and I told him that sorry, I don't mean to be a bitch or anything, but I'm really happy with my relationship right now and I'm not looking to change that any time soon. He seemed to understand, but at the same time, he would say things like "Is it bad for me to want Jim to get hit by a bus?" and "I'm obligated to hate the boyfriend of a pretty girl". It was very 'ha-ha, that's a joke, we're a little bit buzzed so you can say that I guess', but at the same time it made me feel uncomfortable. I guess I just don't really understand what would make someone think that it's ok to talk like that to someone, to tell a girl that yeah, I like you and I want to be with you and stuff, and I'm acknowledging your current relationship by hoping that it dies a fiery death so I can swoop in. I actually called him Prince Humperdink (from The Princess Bride) at one point, but I don't know if he really got the whole picture.
2. My roommates and I are having a party tomorrow night! I'm really excited, I really like stuff like this. I know it'll be work, and we'll have to keep an eye on ourselves so that we can keep an eye on everyone else, but I think it'll be worth it. A bunch of my friends here at school are invited, and my best friends Katie and Kyle might come down from UMBC and Towson, respectively. I don't really expect Katie and Kyle to show up, but it would just make the night so much better if they do.
3. We seem to be starting a new tradition here in 709, that of family dinners on Fridays. We'll take turns making something for everyone and then eating together. Last week Meghan made tacos, and tonight Wells made spaghetti and homemade meatballs. Both meals have been delicious so far, and I think I might volunteer for next week and make homemade pizza. I really like this kind of tradition, I think it's a lot of fun and I hope we continue to do it for the rest of the year.
4. I really want to do a 'fashion' project at some point this year, where I'll take pictures of what I'm wearing every day for a month or so and post them here. I think it would be fun, to show my own style and even see for myself the kind of things that really crop up in my wardrobe more often than others. I feel like it would also prompt me to dress a little bit better, knowing that I'll have to actually take pictures and post them online for people to see and potentially comment on. If I do this project though I think I would want to wait and see if I end up getting a better camera at some point, or even just a tripod or something so that I can take pictures with the camera that I have rather than trying to set up my computer and webcam somewhere. I guess I'll just keep this idea in the back of my mind for now, and see how feasible it is later this year.
5. This really isn't a number-worthy topic, because it really isn't a topic at all, but I am exhausted right now. I took a nap earlier this evening and now it's 3 am and I'm lying in bed forcing myself to post this before I brush my teeth and go to sleep. I think it's just a general college thing, not getting enough sleep and always being tired. I do attribute some of my sleep deprivation to my long-distance relationship, though. Jim tends to stay up late at night playing Guild Wars or Skyrim, and then I end up staying up late too, waiting for him to get on Skype so we can see each other and say goodnight. We really need to try to do something about this, because I love getting to see him as much as I can, even if it is just on a screen, but I need my sleep too (and so does he!). Maybe we can start trying to knock our clocks back, and both start getting to bed a little bit earlier every night. It would be nice, ideal, if I could get in eight or nine hours a night. I don't know that that'll happen, but a girl can dream!
No comments:
Post a Comment