Sunday, August 12, 2012

Thoughts On Moving

Today my parents and I moved my stuff from my old apartment into my new apartment. The new room is definitely a bit smaller than the old one, and I no longer have a walk-in closet, oh woe is me especially now that I have my own bathroom (walk-in closet trade for my own bathroom = first world problems). My new view is better, and my window is bigger. Now instead of showcasing Route 1 and having a great view of the McDonald's across the street, my room overlooks the creek behind my building, the bridge onto campus, and I can see all the way to the Comcast Center. I won't have loud traffic noise all night, and the sun won't rise to my window every morning. I think this is definitely a trade-up. The rent is cheaper, too. And my new building is the one that actually has the pool and the gym in it. I had access to them last year too, but being as lazy as I am, I rarely actually used them because it would require me to walk twenty feet between buildings. Now I don't have that problem, I only have to brave the elevator and a walk down a few hallways. We'll see if I can make the journey as the year goes on.

As much as I like traveling and packing things up for trips, it turns out that I do not especially like moving. It's a lot of work, and I never really know where to start. Luckily though at least it ends up with me being able to organize a new room and create a new cozy setting for the next year (and maybe a few years after that if I decide to stay in the same apartment!). I've already started a shopping list for things that I need to get for my new place, i.e. shower curtain, white party lights, picture frames, curtains, pillows, cork board (and kind of a shit ton more, too). I'll only have a week to get everything done when we get back from the lake [incidentally, I'm leaving tomorrow and won't really have internet access, so I'll probably be back with a post around next Sunday!], so hopefully I'll be able to fit it all in.

One thing that did particularly bother me about moving was the fact that because I was the last of four people to move out of my old apartment, I ended up being stuck with everything that my roommates left behind. I had to get rid of all of the food that had been left behind, and sort through the kitchen stuff like spoons, pots, and pans. Some of it I actually ended up just leaving in the apartment, because I had no use for it and nobody seemed to claim it. I ended up with some new cooking utensils and pans though. Stuff like that kind of bothers me, because I know that if it had been any one of them as the last one, they probably wouldn't have wanted to deal with the leftovers, either. I can understand too when you might not remember bringing something, but obviously it has to belong to someone, and it's not mine, so somebody has to own up to it. But nobody does. I'm pretty sure one of them moved out with my colander, too, which really isn't that big a deal, just in principle. People should have more respect for the property of others, and for the time that other people may have to spend taking care of what gets left in the end.

No comments:

Post a Comment