Wednesday, August 1, 2012

Fake Adventures and Long-Not-Long Nights.

Background to today's story: When I get overtired, I basically turn into an infant. I start feeling sick, and I start to cry and basically completely break down and can barely function. It's happened a few times before, mainly when I've stressed myself out way too much about finals, and another time after I stayed up for about 25 hours straight after a lock-in. This past Sunday and Monday nights I only got 3 hours of sleep each, so yesterday I spent waiting for the breakdown, staying alert for tell-tale signs that soon someone would have to wipe my tears and put me to bed.

Last night was an adventure without really being an adventure. After our last day of work ended, all of the interns who were friends went back to Jenny's - another library intern - house, and we ended up just hanging out there. Those interns who were 21 went out and bought beer, and we all just hung out talking and watching the Olympics. It was a lot of fun, until it got to be around 10pm and I thought I should probably look up some bus schedules to figure out when I should leave. I was using Jenny's acer mini to look up the schedules and for some reason they showed up differently on her computer than they do on mine. On her browser, it looked like the latest bus from the College Park metro station onto the University of Maryland campus stopped running at 8pm on weeknights. I started getting worried so I had someone else look at it too, and they saw the same thing that I did. At this point I wasn't really freaking out yet, because I thought that I would be able to find someone in the College Park area who could pick me up from the metro station when I did end up leaving. Long story short, I was on the phone and twitter a lot trying to find a ride and kept coming up empty-handed. I finally called the UMD Nite-Ride service, and they told me that no, the bus is still running (crazy bitch). I made it to the metro at Union Station and caught a train at the last minute, and eventually made it back to my apartment a little after 12.

I felt ridiculous having made sort of a big deal about finding a ride and not wanting to stay in DC, but I know myself. I know it wouldn't have been a big deal if I'd ended up staying in DC for the night, I could have stayed with another intern and it would have been fine. I know that I don't sleep well in unfamiliar places though (I can't even sleep well in hotels), and I was already running on 6 hours of sleep since Sunday. I didn't want to get no sleep again, get up early to come back, then spend all day packing and then making a 2 hour drive back home (my internship ended yesterday, so now I'm going back home for August). At this point I don't really care anyway, because after I finally made it back, I got the sleep that I had been craving and actually feel somewhat rested now. I guess freaking out was worth it. And I didn't even have the break-down that I had been waiting for so anxiously. It all ended up alright.

No comments:

Post a Comment