A little bit of background for this story: I live in College Park during the week, and every Friday after work I drive 2 hours home to see my friends, family, and bf. I'm in the same apartment that I had for the school year, and am the only one of my three roommates (A, C, and M) to have stayed for the summer. All three of my roommates are planning on moving out sometime this week, as we have to be out of the apartment by July 31. A moved out yesterday, Monday.
Sunday night I got back from home around 11 and pretty much went straight to bed. I was only in the kitchen to put something in the fridge and to set up my coffee maker for the next morning, and I didn't go in the living room. There's a piece of poster board under the couch, and I thought it was sticking out more than normal, but I didn't think anything of it because I knew C had been at our apt over the weekend with her twin and their friend and I figured it had just gotten bumped or pushed out or something. Then yesterday while I was at work, all three of my roommates were trying to get a hold of me with about a half hour left of work. I called C back when I got out, and she said that when A moved out, the inspector moved the couch and found a bunch of puke in the carpet, that someone had moved the couch to cover it up. The whole carpet has to be replaced, and we have to pay for it. A and M straight up said that they weren't going to pay, which totally makes sense because they haven't been in the apartment since the semester ended so obviously it had nothing to do with them. I've been there every week, but I don't party or do anything on week nights, and I've been home every weekend. So that leaves C. At first I was frantically racking my brain, trying to remember if I had smelled anything over the last few weeks, or if the couch seemed like it had been in a different place. When I got back to the apartment after work though, I could smell it as soon as I walked near the couch, and the stains were obvious enough and far enough up in the room that I knew they hadn't been there the week before. C said that she thought it was her sister, and that when she asked her about it, her sister must have lied, and that she (C) would try to get her sister to come down this week and clean it.
I haven't really touched on the subject of paying for it with C yet, because she's already worried enough about her parents. They're super strict, and they'll be angry when they find out that anyone was drinking in the apartment this weekend, let alone that it was their kids. C is moving out on Wednesday though, and she's going to have to tell her parents before then, or at least when she has to pay for the carpet. I'm definitely not paying for it, because I had 100% nothing to do with it. I don't mean to throw C under the bus, but I'm not paying for a room's worth of new carpeting because of something with which I had absolutely no involvement.
Forgetting the fact that someone is going to have to pay for the new carpet, I feel disrespected that the whole thing happened at all. I mean really, when is it EVER ok to puke on somene else's floor and then hide it under the couch? When is it ever ok to puke on someone else's floor at all? It's completely ridiculous. There is no reason to go out and get that drunk that you can't keep yourself together. And if you're going to throw up, for god's sake, at least try to get to a trash can or a toilet or something. When you're going to throw up, you know you're going to throw up. You don't just roll over and puke off the side of the couch and then cover it up in the morning. It's one of the most disrespectful things I've ever experienced. You have to know your limits. When you're drinking, you know how fucked up you're getting. You know how much you're drinking, and how fast, and how much you've had to eat, etc. You know when you've had enough that it might make you sick. Throwing up all over someone else's floor, or anything in someone else's home, is completely unacceptable. I don't care if you cleaned it up or not, there is no excuse for emptying your guts in somebody's house, unless it's in a trash can or a toilet.
---
I wrote the first four paragraphs as a draft earlier today, and now I feel differently. Yes, it's disrespectful to puke in someone else's home, my feelings on that haven't changed. I still don't want to pay for it, either. But I'm not really angry about it. C and her sisters came and cleaned up today, and the stains actually don't really look bad anymore. They move the furniture around so that they're mostly hidden, and the room doesn't smell. C's sister still says she didn't do it, so now I just feel bad because we don't know who did it, but I still don't want to pay for it because though we don't know who it was, we know when it was, and it was when C was the only one here, so it's still somewhat her responsibility. I'm kind of tired of being angry and upset about things, I think. I used to get angry and upset all the time, and I used to get in bad moods all the time, and this isn't to say that that'll never happen again, because that would be impossible. I haven't had a 'bad' day at all for the whole summer so far though, so I think this is a good start for someone new.
No comments:
Post a Comment