Tuesday, February 19, 2013

MD v DUKE


I definitely should have made this post about two days ago, but: THE MARYLAND / DUKE GAME!!!!!

The basketball game on Saturday was my second UMD v Duke game. We lost last year, which just makes this win even more sweet for me. Duke and UNC are probably tied for rivals with UMD, and can we please acknowledge that one of my first full sentences as a child was “we hate Duke but we’ve hated Carolina longer”. I’ve known for my whole life that Duke’s Blue Devils really are devils, and getting to watch the game in person on Saturday was amazing.

I went with two friends, Jon and Tyler, and we ended up standing in the aisle at the bottom of the student section because the stadium was so packed that we couldn’t find three seats together (or any seats by the time we got there). The air was electric; there was an incredible amount of energy in the stands. I screamed until I was hoarse and Tyler tried to carry off chants involving Duke’s coach and STD’s. Or are they STI’s now? Anyway... We had a flash mob dance thing (I don’t really know if it counts as a flash mob but I think that’s what they’ve been calling it?) and the entire student section did the Harlem Shake during half time. It was so crazy, and so much fun.

We stormed the court for the 83-81 win, and even though I’m only 5’3” I managed to make it in and out unscathed. I got elbowed in the face but it didn’t leave a mark so it’s all good! I came out with a flask that I didn’t have going in, too. A couple of older men had joined the students on the court, and one picked up a flask from the ground a few feet away from me, and his friend noticed me and handed it to me saying “Here student, you need this more than we do!” before walking away. A pretty good prize, in my college opinion.

Jon, Tyler, and I missed the majority of the ‘riot’ down Route 1 after the game, and we joined the mob around 9:30 to watch lots of crowd surfing and hear calls of “Show your tits” and “Fuck Duke”. At that point, it seemed like everyone was just waiting for something to happen that was never going to come, so I made it back home by a surprisingly early 11 pm.

I’m so glad that I got a ticket for the game. It was definitely one of my best college experiences so far, and the kind of thing that I hope to be a part of again and again over the next two years before I graduate.

I hope that UMD will schedule games with Duke and UNC out of conference after we officially move over to the Big 10. That was a pretty big concern within the UMD fanbase after the Big 10 announcement was made. My dad told me though that with the way that the ACC was taking in more schools, there would only be a home game with Duke every other year anyway, with one game between us each year. The Big 10 will be a big change for us, but the ACC isn’t what it used to be, either. Hopefully we can develop new rivalries and still keep up the tradition of hating any team in blue that hails from North Carolina!

Friday, February 15, 2013

On My Back

February 14, 2013


dress / Forever 21 ;; sweater / Forever 21 ;; tights / probably Bon Ton 

Wednesday, February 13, 2013

Catching Up

Things have been...normal, lately. I'm behind on my readings for my classes, as usual. I'm enjoying most of my classes though, so that's promising. My religious studies class is turning out to be relatively like high school though, in that it's really difficult for me to concentrate and I get distracted very easily. My English classes and my sociology class are great though so I guess it evens out.

Jim came to visit over the weekend, and we went out for pizza with Wells and her boyfriend, to this really cool place in Chevy Chase called Comet Ping Pong. The ping pong was fun and the pizza was fantastic, and I got a piece of tiramisu that was about as big as my face. I definitely want to go back there again.

It was really warm out today, or at least really warm in comparison to how cold it was right at the beginning of the semester, so I actually wore a dress and tights to class for the first time in months.


I love wearing dresses; dresses make me feel feminine and girly and free. I took the pictures using the web cam on my MacBook Pro so they're not very good quality, but you can at least see what today's dress looks like. I got it from Forever21 last Spring and this is probably only the third or fourth time that I've worn it. I really want to start wearing more dresses layered with tights and sweaters during the colder months. It makes me feel happier in the dreary weather and allows me to cycle more clothing into my wardrobe than just jeans and sweaters until the weather warms up!