My Christmas really begins on Christmas Eve, when my family goes to Mass - yes, I was raised Roman Catholic - and then heads over to Grandma's house for dinner. We of the Walsh brood have a special Christmas Eve tradition: pizza and wings! Everyone goes to Grandma's house, we order in, and we sit around watching movies and spending time together. Then it's home to wait for Santa and see if you can hear reindeer up on the roof.
This morning my alarm was set for 9:30 am, so of course I woke up at 8:00 and couldn't fall back asleep. I recruited my sister around 9:00 and we woke our parents up because who doesn't want to open presents first thing in the morning? I made sure to give my presents to my family before I started tearing into the 'Santa pile', just so you know. I got a sweatshirt for Claire, a sweater and a pair of earrings for my mom, and a book about the Civil War for my dad. Then it was time for Claire and me to open our presents. There really wasn't a whole lot under the tree this year, partly because of all of my car troubles from this Fall (we bought a used Honda Civic the other day!) and partly because my parents are taking Claire and me shopping in a few weeks because we're to a point that it's difficult for them to pick out clothes for us and size things correctly.
I really don't mind not having much to open. Honestly, I'm to a point where Christmas makes me feel greedy. I sit there and I open up all of these presents and I appreciate it so much, but it's like. Why are we doing this? When did Christmas become this big holiday all about presents and getting new stuff? I mean yeah, I enjoy it. I can't deny that. I love getting presents and having new things. But I just feel like I don't really deserve it. Why am I getting all of this stuff? What dictates that "hey, on this date you should just give your kids - and everyone you know - a shit ton of stuff for no reason!?" It just bothers me a little bit. Which isn't to say either that when I grow up I'll have a totally uncommercial Christmas with no presents or anything, because like I said, I do enjoy (AND APPRECIATE) it. It just makes me wonder.
Now that I've had my little introspective discussion about my thoughts on Christmas, I'll continue with our traditions. After opening presents, we always have sweet rolls as a family, cinnamon and orange. I always only eat cinnamon. Then we just hang out at home until it's time to go back over to Grandma's. Today I helped my mom with the baking - we made Reese's Cup cookies and they are sooo good oh my gosh. I love them, and they're so easy to make (I'll post the recipe sometime before the end of break). We headed over to Grandma's house around 6. I don't know if ham is actually a Christmas dinner tradition for most people or what, but we always have turkey, with mashed potatoes, green bean casserole (which I don't eat), cranberry sauce, stuffing, and rolls (usually from Caporale's bakery.) This year we did presents after dinner, and then I actually left to go see Les Miserables with Katie, Kyle, and Tim.
This was a good Christmas. It was definitely different, without Grandma, but it was ok. I'm glad that I got to spend it with my family and friends, especially knowing that so many people couldn't do the same this year because of the shooting in Newtown, Connecticut. Events like that don't make any sense to me, but they make me hold my family closer and appreciate all that I have. I am lucky, I am blessed.
![]() |
| I always like dressing up for Christmas Mass. Claire said I looked like a doll this year. |
![]() |
| Sisters, sisters, never were there such devoted sisters! White Christmas has always been one of my favorite Christmas movies! |
if you were wondering what I got for Christmas, I put a list on tumblr










